Home CITY UPDATES Five districts around Bengaluru city clubbed for ID-based ease of travel

Five districts around Bengaluru city clubbed for ID-based ease of travel

Former Chief Secretary TM Vijay Bhaskar

Chief Secy stresses 7 pm to 7 am curfew


In a major move to relax travel restrictions during the lockdown, the Karnataka government has clubbed five major districts surrounding the capital city — Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural, Ramanagara, Chikkaballapur and Kolar — as one single unit for the purpose of  movement. while night curfew will continue.

While announcing this relaxation, Chief Secretary TM Vijay Bhaskar, who is also chairman of the state executive committee, has reiterated that night curfew will continue from 7 on to 7am.


In his order, Bhaskar has directed that the five districts be treated as one single unit. “Inter-district movement of individuals and vehicles will be allowed in accordance with the permitted time from 7 am to 7 pm to undertake permitted activities only, with the production of a letter from the company or organization they are working in and the official ldentity card of the company/organization. Hence, no other inter-district passes will be required to move across these districts.”

For other districts, inter-district movement passes for permitted activities will be required, which will be issued by the Deputy Commissioners of the districts or the Deputy Commissioner of Police in Commissionerates. No inter-district passes will be issued for non-permitted activities except on a one-time basis for stranded persons.

Bhaskar reiterated that for movement of individuals, curfew timings are between 7 pm and 7 am, and passes already issued for essential activities only shall continue to be valid.

However, for IT-BT, industries, etc, the Departmental Secretaries will recommend the issue of curfew passes to the concerned DCPs in Commissionerates /Deputy Commissioners of the districts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here