Home POLITICS Karnataka MLC elections on June 29

Karnataka MLC elections on June 29



Elections to 7 Legislative Council seats in Karnataka that fall vacant in June 30 will be held on June 29, according to an announcement by the Central Election Commission.

The retiring MLCs are Nazeer Ahmed, Jayamma, HM Revanna, MC Venugopal, NS Bose Raju, DU Mallikarjun and T A Saravana.

The last date for filing nominations is June 18, and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 22. Voting will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on June 29 and the Election Commission will announce the results after 4 pm on the same day.

The BJP can win 4 seats, the Congress 2 and the JDS 1 as per the electoral arithmetic. HM Revanna and Nazeer Ahmed are seeking a second term while Nivedita Alva, Ugrappa, Sudarshan and Ivan D’Souza are trying their luck for the two seats in the Congress. Bharti Shankar and Rani Satish are also in the race.

For the BJP’s four seats, the contenders are R Shankar, MTB Nagaraj, H Vishwanath, Shankarappa, Malikayya Guttedar and Nirmala Kumar Surana.

For the JDS’s one seat, aspirants are Konareddy, BB Ningaya, Jawarai Gowda, Saravana and Kupendra Reddy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here