Home STATE 6-taluk Vijayanagar district is born

6-taluk Vijayanagar district is born


Cabinet formalises boundaries of Karnataka’s 31st district


The state cabinet, at its meeting here on Friday, formalised the incorporation of 6 taluks of Ballari district in the new Vijayanagar district.

Speaking to the media later, Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs J C Madhuswamy said the taluks which will now constitute Vijayanagar district are Hospet, Kottur, Koodlagi, Huvinahadagali, Harapanahalli and Hagaribommanahalli.


Long-pending demand

Vijayanagar is now the 31st district of Karnataka, with its headquarters at Hospet. The government’s green signal for the new district came on November 18, following a long-standing demand fronted in recent times by Vijayanagar MLA and Forest & Environment Minister Anand Singh.

Ballari loses out on Hampi

One of the fall-outs of the geographical change is that world-famous heritage town Hampi will now be associated with Vijayanagar district, to the disappointment of many Ballari-ites.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here