Home POLITICS BJP wins Belgaum LS, Basavakalyan assembly segment, Congress bags Maski assembly seat

BJP wins Belgaum LS, Basavakalyan assembly segment, Congress bags Maski assembly seat



The BJP won the Belgaum Lok Sabha and Basavakalyan assembly segments in Karnataka while the Congress was able to retain the Maski assembly seat in the April 17 bypolls whose results were declared on Sunday.

According to officials, in Belgaum Lok Sabha constituency Mangala Suresh Angadi won by a margin of 5,240 votes over his nearest rival and Congress candidate Satish Jarkiholi by securing 4,36,868 votes.

While Mangala is the widow of sitting BJP MP and former Minister of State for Railways Suresh Angadi, who died of COVID last year, Jarkiholi is the Congress state working president and Yamakanmardi MLA in Belagavi district.

An independent candidate Shubhan Vikrant Shelke, backed by the Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti and Shiv Sena, garnered over 1.24 lakh votes and stood third.

O.S.N.CandidatePartyEVM VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of Votes
1ANGADI MANGAL SURESHBharatiya Janata Party436868345944032743.07
2SATISH LAXMANARAO JARKIHOLIIndian National Congress432882220543508742.56
3VIVEKANAND BABU GHANTIKarnataka Rashtra Samithi47707448440.47
4SHRI VENKATESHWARA MAHA SWAMIJIHindustan Janta Party19556020150.2
5MARALINGANNAVAR SURESH BASAPPAKarnataka Karmikara Paksha19507120210.2
6APPASHEB SHRIPATI KURANEIndependent13085613640.13
7SHRI GOUTAM YAMANAPPA KAMBLEIndependent13662413900.14
8NAGAPPA KALASANNAVARIndependent29822430060.29
9SHUBHAM VIKRANT SHELKEIndependent11692325111717411.46
10SREEKANT PADASALAGIIndependent43474143880.43
11NOTANone of the Above1056368106311.04
Total 101591463331022247
Source: https://results.eci.gov.in/PCBYEResultMay2021/ConstituencywiseS102.htm?ac=2

BJP’s Sharanu Salagar

In Basavakalyan, BJP’s Sharanu Salagar defeated the Congress candidate Mala B Narayan Rao, widow of sitting Congress MLA late Narayan Rao, who too died last year due to COVID, leaving the assembly segment vacant.

Salagar garnered 38,999 votes against Mala who got 27,406 votes. The JD(S) candidate Sayed Yasrub Ali Quadri was a distant third with 9,509 votes, officials said.

Congress candidate Basanagauda Turvihal

In Maski, Congress candidate Basanagauda Turvihal secured 86,222 votes and defeated his nearest candidate Prathapagouda Patil with a huge victory margin of 30,606 votes.

Patil was formerly a Congress MLA who had resigned from the assembly in 2019 and later joined the BJP.

His resignation had necessitated the bypoll.

Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa greeted both the party candidates who won.

Congratulating Mangala Angadi, Yediyurappa tweeted, “Heartfelt congratulations to Mangala Angadi for winning the Belgaum Lok Sabha by-election.”

He also thanked the voters of Belagavi who reposed their faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s leadership.

Greeting Salagar, he tweeted, “My heartfelt thanks to all the voters who have blessed the Bharatiya Janata Party in the by-election to the Basavakalyan Assembly constituency. Congratulations to Sharanu Salagar, our candidate who won the confidence of the people of the constituency.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here